Hammam Review- Casa Spa, London

Looking for somewhere to experience the hammams like North African and the Middle East in London? Just a few minutes walk from the Edgware Road or Warwick Avenue underground stations lies Casablanca Spa, a North African hammam run by Tunisian born Helen Murphy and it really is an oasis in the middle of Central London.

Pre Booking

I rang the day before to book my session which was a hammam and massage, and this was fortuitous as the hammam does not accept people off the street for security reasons. Booking by email or phone is therefore highly recommended if you don’t want to be disappointed.

Welcome

I was warmly welcomed into a tranquil area decorated with luxurious cushions and candles  and offered mint tea in the reception area . Soft music played in the background and it all felt very relaxing.

The hammam

I was led downstairs lit with tea lights to the basement and another world. After getting undressed into a swimsuit the attendant led me into the steam hammam room where I sat in the mist for a good twenty minutes as the sweat began to appear. Not too long to relax though as  the female attendant entred and splashed cold water all over me which was refreshing and I returned to the steam as the vapour completely obliterated everything in the chamber. Next the black olive soap was rubbed all over my body and left to do its job as more steam enveloped me. In came the attendant once more with the kese brush and rigorously removed dead skin from my body with very deft movements and then I showered. My skin felt heavenly as I relaxed on the couch with some fresh fruit and mint tea afterwards.

For the massage this is done in a quiet room where I was covered with a towel. This was done very professionally by a male masseur who found aching muscles I never knew I had. A blissful experience and one which left my skin glowing.

The whole place felt intimate and very clean, and was also a very tranquil place to chill out.

Recommendation

For someone wanting an authentic hammam in London the Casablanca Spa at 439 Edgware Road is hard to beat and very good value compared to similar experiences in London. As a single woman I felt safe and very welcome and also respected and it really was a fabulous experience that I will repeat. Remember to prebook, and take a swimsuit for the hammam as it can be mixed. The massage is done in a private area and worth it after the hammam. This is the perfect place to come in London to have a good hammam and to relive that exotic holiday.

I paid the following: Hammam £45   Massage for 1 hour is £60. Several packages are available and on the spa website.

Details: Casablanca Spa is at 439, Edgware Road, London W2 1TH

02077242030

www.casaspa.co.uk

Leave a Reply

